All about Antarctic Treaty System

This treaty ensures international co operation and harmony between the countries with an interest in the frozen continent. The Antarctic Treaty was originally signed by 12 countries who had set up scientific research during the event- International Geophysical Year ( IGY) from 1957-58. These 12 countries established more than 50 permanent Research Stations on the solid ground of the continent.

Read →